How to Get Your License

The Department of Real Estate requires that you take three (3) three-semester unit college-level courses. Those courses are Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Practice and the third course is your choice from a list of required electives. Congratulations, you are in the right place! America West School of Real Estate offers these courses.

Step 1: Enroll and Begin Your Courses

Real Estate Principles Course
California Real Estate Principles is easy to understand, yet rigorous in reinforcing the terms and concepts necessary to pass the California real estate license exam. This edition has been updated to reflect California’s latest legislative changes. The authors have added fresh examples, new Student Learning Outcomes, and updated Reviewing Your Understanding questions throughout. Math has been moved out of the main text to the appendix, so students have a single place to look for all formulas and real estate math. This text contains everything you need to dive headfirst into your real estate career.

Final Exam Criteria
Consists of 100 multiple choice questions and students have 3 ½ hours to complete. Should a student fail their first attempt, they must wait 18 days before they can make another attempt to pass. You must receive a 60% or higher to pass.

DRE Disclaimer Statement
This course is approved for pre-license education credit by the California Department of Real Estate. However, this approval does not constitute an endorsement of the views or opinions which are expressed by the course sponsor, instructors, authors, or lecturers.

Real Estate Practice
Once you pass the Principles exam, you will move on to the next course, Real Estate Practice. Real Estate Practice is mandatory. California Real Estate Practice is the practical application of real estate knowledge to meet the needs of buyers, sellers, lessors and lessees. It is a course in what to do for success in meeting these needs. It is not a repetition of California Real Estate Principles, however, it does cover the practical application of much of what you learned in Principles, as well as the "how" of being a real estate professional. California Real Estate Practice sets the standard for real estate education in California. This course provides you with the latest developments in California real estate law and practice and teaches the real estate professional what it takes to build a successful career and practice.
The open book final exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions. This is a timed exam. You must complete it in no more than 3 ½ hours. You must score a 60% or better to pass.
Next, you will move on to your elective course. The following course topics will qualify for the elective course requirement:

Legal Aspects of Real Estate
Property Management
Mortgage Loan Brokering & Lending

Online Evaluation Statement
A course and instructor evaluation is available on the California Department of Real Estate (DRE) website at  Access this form by typing in “RE 318A” in the search box located in the upper right corner of the home page.

Step 2: Apply for the State Exam

You will apply for your state exam by mail, using the salesperson examination application (form RE 400A) online at The fee for the State exam is $60. Once you have applied for your State exam date, you will have approximately 6 to 8 weeks before you take your exam. 

Step 3: Apply for your Real Estate License

After you have taken and passed the state exam, the Department of Real Estate will send you a license application packet. To get your license you must return this packet to the DRE, which includes the following items:

License application
LiveScan Service Request/fingerprint form (RE 237)
Copies of all three course completion certificates
Fee of $245 payable to the Department of Real Estate (in check or credit card – form RE 909 – only)

It will take about four to six weeks to receive your license from the DRE once you have returned this license application.

NOTE: You can expidite the process by submitting the combo application, where you apply for the State Exam and License at the same time. Use form RE435. Should you decide to use this application, the fee will be $305 and you must submit the fingerprint LiveScan form along with the application and copies of certificates.

All DRE forms may be found here:

You must be at least 18 years of age at time of application.

No prior experience is required.

Criminal Record:
You may be denied a Real Estate License if you have been convicted of a felony or of a crime that involves dishonesty. You may contact the Department of Real Estate and state your case to see if you are eligible for a license.

Back Spousal/Child Support:
You will be denied a Real Estate License if you are in a back spousal/child support situation. You will need to get this matter corrected before you can apply for a license.

Remember: Anyone may obtain a salesperson’s license, but in order to conduct licensed real estate activity, you must place your license with a licensed real estate broker. For more information regarding job placement, contact Tishana Debenham at (661) 334-4000 or

More Info